Uncle Woe: Moves forward from a solo studio project….

Uncle Woe - Phantomescence

Canada’s Uncle Woe brings you a contemplative, progressive doom album Phantomescence that was completely conceived and recorded in pandemic induced isolation. The full album Phantomescence is due out October 23rd via Packard Black Productions. The opening track/lead single, Become The Ghost is a meandering exploration of death and dreams.

Rain Fice states about the song, «Become The Ghost is almost relentless in its forward, mid-tempo, stomping march. The first chorus comes as a very small, simple 3/4 breather, in the midst of the opening/verse riff’s endless churning and revolving 11/4 and 15/4 riff. The vocals throughout are rough, and finally build to a scream in that last, closing verse. After the death of someone very near to me, I remember a feeling of loss so great that it seemed that even though THEY had died, I was the one who became a ghost if that makes sense; a ghost, or shadow, or shell».

Phantomescence deviates from the first Uncle Woe album as the band moves forward from a solo studio project. It is an easily digestible, logical next step in the band’s evolution; elements, which made the first LP, Our Unworn Limbs, engaging and intriguing are present again on this offering; expanded upon, polished, and moderately better produced. The new album deals with death in a much broader and less personal sense, and also contains a lot of abstract, dream sequence type elements.

Currently, as a two-piece, Rain Fice and Nicholas Wowk worked on their parts separately, shared them online and managed to pull off the second album from the band. Many chugging, bludgeoning passages are offset by expansive and contemplative, subdued, almost post-rock soundscapes, making Uncle Woe suitable for fans of Yob, Chrome Ghost and Deftones.

Track Listing:

1. Become The Ghost (6:29)

2. On Laden Shores (13:30)

3. Lucid Degrees of Autoscopic Ruin (6:45)

4. A Map of Dead Stars (13:14)

EP Length: 40:00

Fascinating enough is all album credits done by Rain Fice/Nicholas Wowk, together or separately!

• All songs performed by: Rain Fice/Nicholas Wowk

• All songs written by: Rain Fice Become The Ghost by Fice/Wowk

• Produced by: Rain Fice/Nicholas Wowk

• Mixed by: Rain Fice

• Mastered by: Rain Fice

• Album Artwork by: Rain Fice

• Canadian Content (MAPL)

EP Recording Band Line Up:

Rain Fice – Guitar, Vocals, Bass, Keyboards

Nicholas Wowk – Drums/Percussion

Hailing from the oft frozen hills of rural Canada, Uncle Woe is a phantom limb, wielding a bludgeoning tool against mostly true tales of bittersweet sorrow, revenge, and regret.

The bleak desolation of Bancroft, Ontario spawned Uncle Woe in 2019 when Rain Fice grew weary of floundering in non-committed projects and instead dove into songwriting mode with a rough idea of his ideal sound and started carving out what would become the first Uncle Woe LP “Our Unworn Limbs”.

After the album was released in 2019 and started to pick up some buzz, a full band began to form. However, the pandemic was not far off and the band whittled down to a 2 piece. Before lockdown began, Uncle Woe managed to lock down the rough elements of what would become the second album Phantomescence, Fice expanded on them, and after being fed to drummer Nicholas Wowk, and recording remotely, the album was complete: a meandering exploration of death and dreams. Many chugging, bludgeoning passages are offset by expansive and contemplative, subdued, almost post-rock soundscapes.

As Uncle Woe begins to hit their stride, fans can look forward to the band putting out music pretty much indefinitely, plans are in motion for a third album already.

Verbal Aggression states, «The lone member (although it does seem as if drummer Nicholas Wowk has been added to the band) Rain Fice has created a truly wondrous journey through pure doom lands into that astral, transcendental other place doom of the aforementioned Yob that gives you goosebumps with its completely distressing doom metal. Fice’s clean echo-drenched vocals are also of very high quality, while not actually sounding like Mike Scheidt, Fice does exude a similar aura of supreme enlightenment and complete mastery of his art».


About Ulf Backstrøm (7201 Articles)
Mitt hovedfokus er musikk som er basert på progressiv tenking. Jeg er på ingen måte ensporet innen musikksmak, i likhet med intensjonen bak prog. Sjangerbegrepet er egentlig temmelig uinteressant annet enn til å gi en pekepinn om hva slags musikk det er snakk om i en anmeldelse. Jeg søker god musikk for å utfordre meg som lytter. God musikk til å trigge mine musikalske smaksløker, og til å sette i gang mine refleksjoner. Da er sjansen stor for at jeg utvikler meg og lærer, noe som bør være drivstoff for et hvert menneske. Fordi det å lære og utvikle seg er noe som tilfører livet en nødvendig porsjon "krydder". Slikt krydderet finner man blant annet i musikk. Ikke overraskende mener jeg at progressiv musikk har den fineste "smaken". På den annen side kan musikk med eller uten progressive elementer være godt nok til hverdags. Til fest derimot holder bare rendyrket prog! Må jo også få med at jeg rimelig kritisk, og jeg mener at det lages mye prog som er i beste fall uinteressant, og faktisk mye som er pinlig dårlig. Heldigvis oppveies dette av ekstremt dyktige aktører som for eksempel: Flower Kings, Mostly Autumn og White Willow, for å nevne noen tilfeldig valgte.
Contact: Website

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.