Catalyst: Uncompromising brutality and technicality await you!

Catalyst - A Different Painting For A New World

Catalyst offers technical death metal. Devastating sophomore album A Different Painting For A New World, out on October 14th 2022 via Non Serviam Records.

Uncompromising brutality and technicality await you in A Different Painting For A New World, pummeling here with force and power, battering there with instrumental virtuosity.

Recently French technical death metallers Catalyst announced their signing with one of the most passionate labels in the extreme metal, Non Serviam Records.

 A Different Painting For A New Worl, which was produced by HK Krauss at Vamacara Studio (Loudblast, Sinsaneum, Dagoba, among others), brings you to enigmatic field of brutality and epicness.

 The original story of the Catalyst, vital core character of the band’s concept, is being carried through these 10 brand new tracks. As a concept band, Catalyst tells an original story of a universe brought to life by 9 Lords, originally protecting its integrity, but now corrupted by the almighty Creator. In this new chapter, the Catalyst now needs to purify that world, contaminated by the Creator’s madness and chaos. It tells the birth of a better world through destruction, but also about the battle of two entities fighting for different beliefs.

 The stunning artwork was created by the French visionary Above Chaos (Meshuggah, Moonsorrow, etc.).

 «The new album is well on its way to be released, and will hit much harder than the first one did. The work we’ve put into it will strike your ears with ferocious and overwhelming brutality, and we’re more than ready to hit stages to show how much of a banger this is going to be when played live! It was a lot of work to create this full hour of intense music, it took us several years to get to this point. The release for this album was delayed two times, so it was really hard for us to wait until the release. But now we are ready! We are very proud of the result, it’s a complex yet quite accessible album», comments the mastermind Jules Kicka.

Track Listing:

1. Gathering Of New Forces

2. To Unleash Thy Heinous Fate

3. The Last Warning

4. Worms and Locusts

5. Arise Of The Anathema

6. Paragon Of Devastation

7. Behold Thy Purification

8. Peripeteia

9. The Catalyst’s End

10. A Different Painting For A New World

The first taste of the new album will be available on August 16th.

Founded in 2017 by Jules Kicka, Catalyst is a 4-piece death metal act from France, dragging the old-school sound forward to open it up to a more contemporary, technical and progressive shade, apart from its kind.

After a well-received debut EP Dawn Of A Dreadful Fate (2017) and the critically acclaimed album The Great Purpose Of The Lords (2019), Catalyst are now ready to unleash their devastating sophomore album on October 14th 2022.


About Ulf Backstrøm (7442 Articles)
Mitt hovedfokus er musikk som er basert på progressiv tenking. Jeg er på ingen måte ensporet innen musikksmak, i likhet med intensjonen bak prog. Sjangerbegrepet er egentlig temmelig uinteressant annet enn til å gi en pekepinn om hva slags musikk det er snakk om i en anmeldelse. Jeg søker god musikk for å utfordre meg som lytter. God musikk til å trigge mine musikalske smaksløker, og til å sette i gang mine refleksjoner. Da er sjansen stor for at jeg utvikler meg og lærer, noe som bør være drivstoff for et hvert menneske. Fordi det å lære og utvikle seg er noe som tilfører livet en nødvendig porsjon "krydder". Slikt krydderet finner man blant annet i musikk. Ikke overraskende mener jeg at progressiv musikk har den fineste "smaken". På den annen side kan musikk med eller uten progressive elementer være godt nok til hverdags. Til fest derimot holder bare rendyrket prog! Må jo også få med at jeg rimelig kritisk, og jeg mener at det lages mye prog som er i beste fall uinteressant, og faktisk mye som er pinlig dårlig. Heldigvis oppveies dette av ekstremt dyktige aktører som for eksempel: Flower Kings, Mostly Autumn og White Willow, for å nevne noen tilfeldig valgte.
Contact: Website

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.