Condemned – AD: The album span from melodic progressive metal to dark brutal death vibes.

Condemned-AD – Follwing A Failing Leader

Guitarist Alexander Eriksson plays on Condemned-AD`s new album but sadly he passed away in February this years, and in that context it must be strange for the band to release their new album I suppose? Swedish thrash metal band Condemned-AD signed a deal with Wormholedeath for their album Follow A Failing Leader, which will be released on September 23rd, 2022. The track You Will Fear My Hate,

The band speaking of the album stated: «In the album Follow A Failing Leader the lyrics reflect the harsh reality through the eyes of us as a band today but also covers a dark past. We are a Thrash-Metal band with influences from all decades and styles in Thrash metal music. The songs on the album span from melodic progressive metal to dark brutal death vibes. Thanks to Wormholedeath for believing in us, the strive continues to spread our music wherever it may take us. //Micke founder and driving force».

Hailing from Hammarö, Värmland in Sweden, thrash metal outfit Condemned-AD is forging a new future after a dark past. Originally formed in 1989 as Condemned, the band experienced years of chaos and mental health struggles that eventually led to a breakdown for the band’s frontman in 1998. After many years of silence and inactivity, the band reformed in 2015 after Micke, the band’s driving force and sole original member, performed for an old friend and found that the fire and energy of the music were far from dead. At that point, the band’s name was changed to Condemned-AD to signify the start of a new era. The band’s current lineup includes Micke on guitar and vocals and Juan on drums (Alex, guitar, passed away in Feb 2022). Micke is also the mind behind the band’s lyrics, song structure, and riff ideas. The three years old tack Nothing Is Nothing,

Active in the Swedish metal scene in the early 90s, Condemned-AD’s sound was formed amidst a characteristic brutal wave of metal. The band even recorded at the legendary Sunlight Studio with producer Tomas Skogsberg, credited as inventing the sound of death metal for bands like Entombed and Dismember. Influenced by the likes of Motörhead, Megadeth, Venom, Tankard, and Slayer, Condemned-AD writes music about personal experiences of depression, the problem of human stupidity as expressed through today’s social media, and the struggles we all face despite our shared fate of death and decay. Since reforming, the band has released three EPs—Until Death Ends It All (2016), “Will I Cheat Death One More Day (2017), and Time Waits For No One (2018)—and in 2019, the band signed with Italian record label WormHoleDeath.

Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the band’s plan to record their first full-length album was delayed, but in October 2021, the band was finally able to enter the studio at Titanslab in Italy and record. The long-awaited album was released early this summer. All of Condemned-AD’s previous releases can be found streaming on Spotify, YouTube, and other major streaming platforms.

Band line up in the studio on this album

Mikael Karlsson- Bass Vocals and Guitars

Juan Rodrigo- Drums

Alexander Eriksson – Guitar (Past away in Feb 2022)


1 You Will Fear My Hate

2 Dead Don’t Lie

3 Follow A Failing Leader

4 Killing Floor

5 Save Me From Myself

6 Thru The Sinner Eyes

7 Crawl In The Dirt

8 Suicide By Murder

9 Stay Away From Me

10 Loneliness In Lunacy

11 No Gods No Masters

12 Nothing Is Nothing


About Ulf Backstrøm (7397 Articles)
Mitt hovedfokus er musikk som er basert på progressiv tenking. Jeg er på ingen måte ensporet innen musikksmak, i likhet med intensjonen bak prog. Sjangerbegrepet er egentlig temmelig uinteressant annet enn til å gi en pekepinn om hva slags musikk det er snakk om i en anmeldelse. Jeg søker god musikk for å utfordre meg som lytter. God musikk til å trigge mine musikalske smaksløker, og til å sette i gang mine refleksjoner. Da er sjansen stor for at jeg utvikler meg og lærer, noe som bør være drivstoff for et hvert menneske. Fordi det å lære og utvikle seg er noe som tilfører livet en nødvendig porsjon "krydder". Slikt krydderet finner man blant annet i musikk. Ikke overraskende mener jeg at progressiv musikk har den fineste "smaken". På den annen side kan musikk med eller uten progressive elementer være godt nok til hverdags. Til fest derimot holder bare rendyrket prog! Må jo også få med at jeg rimelig kritisk, og jeg mener at det lages mye prog som er i beste fall uinteressant, og faktisk mye som er pinlig dårlig. Heldigvis oppveies dette av ekstremt dyktige aktører som for eksempel: Flower Kings, Mostly Autumn og White Willow, for å nevne noen tilfeldig valgte.
Contact: Website

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.