Aaron Holt: With 7 strings guitar parts….

Aaron Holt - Set Free Your Sorrow

Set Free Your Sorrow is the first single from the upcoming album by Aaron Holt. It is the first track on the album and a fantastic stage set for what is to follow. Like many people going through an incredibly rough time in 2020 this song was written as motivation to «loosen the ties, set free your sorrow».

The soundtrack to these lyrics portrays the dark and heavyweight that many people carry around on themselves. With so many things going wrong, there has to be some sort of direction we can all look towards to ensure a happy ending. The rest of the album features lyrical ideas around this and follows through letting go of the agony we all have trapped inside. The band really explored creating darker sounds out of their instruments, graduating to more full time 7 string guitar parts, large recording spaces, and soaring vocals mixed nicely on top. Holt comments on the album:

«I think anyone who has heard my work before will be pleasantly surprised at the results we’ve managed to create in the more non-ideal recording locations. I strived to focus more on writing towards a mindset around “no one cares about the snare on a song that no one wants to listen to”. We really just tried to flip the production phase more from sounds and tones to the actual material that’s being performed on the instruments and as a whole in the group. I was constantly chasing that catchy riff, melody, or rhythm».

Natural, authentic and heavy, In The Palace will be the third from Aaron Holt, following My Burdened Mind (2018) and The Unknown (2017). Aaron Holt is recommended for fans of Dream Theater, Tremonti, and Trivium. In The Palace will be ready for ears in 2021 (release date to be revealed at a later date).

Track Listing:

1. Set Free Your Sorrow

2. Castles In My Skies

3. Once Again

4. Fortress In My Mind

5. Entrapped

6. The Other Side

7. Trapped Inside

8. Eternally

Aaron Holt’s musical journey started on the George Mason University campus where he was asked to play bass guitar for a local church’s grand opening. It was there that he met drummer and percussionist TJ Maistros who would grow to become a lifelong friend and amazing collaborative partner.

The album My Burdened Mind was a very long and labored writing, recording, and mixing project that ended up taking way longer than originally estimated to create the finished product at 47:36 minutes. The long story short is that the album My Burdened Mind was another grand learning experience for Aaron as a producer especially in terms of recording source material that was worthy of being shared with the world.

After the album’s release, vocalist Eric confirmed he would no longer participate in the project and would not want to participate in any live shows. Short of a bassist and vocalist Aaron Holt and TJ anxiously sat on the release and hoped that anyone would listen. Enter album 3, the endeavor where Aaron Holt is truly making every effort to improve upon everything he didn’t quite get right before.

He signed on the incredible help of local vocalist Sujit Kumar who in his own right stands on pretty high shoulders in the local DC music scene as well as making a name for himself across the globe. Sujit agreed to meet and record a few demo tracks, one older song that Eric originally recorded and another new song that would eventually go on to be the single Set Free Your Sorrow for a full-length album.

Fast forward to 2020 and Aaron with the immense help of TJ and Sujit has completed a 3rd album clocking in at 58 minutes with 10 songs. The production is solid, all instruments hold their own, and everyone listening has great smiles on their faces with absolute relief that everything has come together so well and polished compared to older works. The new album “In The Palace” features a lot of emotional baggage associated with past relationships, differences in opinion among close friends, thoughts on dealing with incredibly stressful daily life, and also a bit of fantasy writing as well in the longest prog ballad written by the group to date. You can expect to hear a large mix of guitar-oriented music such as straight-ahead rock, classic metal riffs, and intricate progressive lines that flow through each section seamlessly.


Om Ulf Backstrøm (6836 Artikler)
Mitt hovedfokus er musikk som er basert på progressiv tenking. Jeg er på ingen måte ensporet innen musikksmak, i likhet med intensjonen bak prog. Sjangerbegrepet er egentlig temmelig uinteressant annet enn til å gi en pekepinn om hva slags musikk det er snakk om i en anmeldelse. Jeg søker god musikk for å utfordre meg som lytter. God musikk til å trigge mine musikalske smaksløker, og til å sette i gang mine refleksjoner. Da er sjansen stor for at jeg utvikler meg og lærer, noe som bør være drivstoff for et hvert menneske. Fordi det å lære og utvikle seg er noe som tilfører livet en nødvendig porsjon "krydder". Slikt krydderet finner man blant annet i musikk. Ikke overraskende mener jeg at progressiv musikk har den fineste "smaken". På den annen side kan musikk med eller uten progressive elementer være godt nok til hverdags. Til fest derimot holder bare rendyrket prog! Må jo også få med at jeg rimelig kritisk, og jeg mener at det lages mye prog som er i beste fall uinteressant, og faktisk mye som er pinlig dårlig. Heldigvis oppveies dette av ekstremt dyktige aktører som for eksempel: Flower Kings, Mostly Autumn og White Willow, for å nevne noen tilfeldig valgte.
Contact: Hjemmeside

Skriv en kommentar

Din email adresse vil ikke bli vist offentlig.