The Mighty Handful: With eclectic mix og styles…..

The Mighty Handful - Touchy Subjects

The UK band The Mighty Handful deliver an eclectic mix of styles on their album Touchy Subjects, and the sound is quite 70s/80s drenched.

The band states about the mentioned album, «Those lucky few who are entirely without sin can cast their stones. The rest of us should occasionally turn ours over and take a good hard look at what lies beneath».

«The Mighty Handful’s Touchy Subjects shines a uncomfortable light on some dark and ugly realities about relationships – our fears, foibles and failures, our inadequacies, our exploitative appetites and unhealthy obsessions, our inability to face the truth about ourselves and the objects of our desires, and the damage we sometimes leave behind. It’s an album which showcases some discomfiting examples that demonstrate that we’re sometimes not nearly as noble, pure-hearted, honourable and virtuous in matters of love and sex as we pretend».

Thematically, Touchy Subjects is a shift from the conceptual storytelling of the band’s last album Still Sitting In Danny’s Car; lead singer and producer, Matt Howes explains – «With Still Sitting … we had a single, if rather expansive, narrative which was populated by largely sympathetic characters through whom we tried to explore issues of friendship, loss, identity, nostalgia and redemption. However, with Touchy Subjects each track is a standalone attempt to get inside the heads of a variety of subjects, some of whom perhaps deserve a modicum of pity and understanding, but almost all of whom warrant reproach on some level. Many of them just aren’t very nice people».

The band is hugely pleased and proud that British comic art giant Mark Buckingham has provided the cover artwork – «Mark Buckingham has been a good friend of ours for some time now and we’re absolutely delighted that he was able to fit this into his demanding schedule. As a band, we’d discussed a variety of concepts for what we wanted to convey visually, and Mark came up with something that captured many of our thoughts but also introduced a rather unsettling yet entirely fitting central image says». Matt Howes.


1. I Knew Your Game (6:09)

2. Godawful Small Affair (3:39)

3. Distant As The Stars (4:26)

4. Kenneth (3:01)

5. Same Old Story (3:35)

6. Just You Wait (4:46)

7. Good Luck Getting Laid (2:45)

8. Relentless (2:35)

9. For The World Is Hollow And I Have Touched The Stars (7:35)

10. Sculptress (6:46)

Total Time 45:17


Ralph Blackbourn – Keyboards, backing vocals

Tom Halley – Bass, backing vocals

Christopher James Harrison – Lead guitar, backing vocals, lead vocal (9)

Matt Howes – lead vocals, guitar, backing vocals

Gary Mackenzie – drums, backing vocals


About Ulf Backstrøm (7226 Articles)
Mitt hovedfokus er musikk som er basert på progressiv tenking. Jeg er på ingen måte ensporet innen musikksmak, i likhet med intensjonen bak prog. Sjangerbegrepet er egentlig temmelig uinteressant annet enn til å gi en pekepinn om hva slags musikk det er snakk om i en anmeldelse. Jeg søker god musikk for å utfordre meg som lytter. God musikk til å trigge mine musikalske smaksløker, og til å sette i gang mine refleksjoner. Da er sjansen stor for at jeg utvikler meg og lærer, noe som bør være drivstoff for et hvert menneske. Fordi det å lære og utvikle seg er noe som tilfører livet en nødvendig porsjon "krydder". Slikt krydderet finner man blant annet i musikk. Ikke overraskende mener jeg at progressiv musikk har den fineste "smaken". På den annen side kan musikk med eller uten progressive elementer være godt nok til hverdags. Til fest derimot holder bare rendyrket prog! Må jo også få med at jeg rimelig kritisk, og jeg mener at det lages mye prog som er i beste fall uinteressant, og faktisk mye som er pinlig dårlig. Heldigvis oppveies dette av ekstremt dyktige aktører som for eksempel: Flower Kings, Mostly Autumn og White Willow, for å nevne noen tilfeldig valgte.
Contact: Website

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.