Blood Of Christ: Brutalized their way onto the Canadian scene in the mid-1990s….

Blood Of Christ - Frozen Dreams and The Lonely Flowers Of Autumn

CDN Records is proud to announce that August 21st will be the release date for the reissue of Canadian death metallers The Blood Of Christ’s early 1990’s demos Frozen Dreams (1994)  and The Lonely Flowers Of Autumn (1995) on limited edition cassette and CD. Both are remixed along with remastering done by Dan Swano (Incantation, Jungle Rot, Asphyx). The CD version features bonus tracks from the 1996 Torture Records 7 single and the 1994 demo Frozen Dreams. The track In The Distance.

The Blood Of Christ brutalized their way onto the Canadian scene in the mid-1990s. Even with various line-up changes, mainly vocalists, the band has released a discography of multiple albums and splits along with being a tour de force, supporting bands such as Cryptopsy, Incantation, Morbid Angel, Kataklysm, Necronomicon, Killitorous and many more local and international acts
The band comments on the reissues:

«This was the beginning of our natural journey that began rooted in straight-up death-grind metal around 1995 with added dark elements from black metal and doom. These songs became epic with varied time signatures and tempo changes, often shifting from chugging death metal riffs to droning black metal riffs in the blink of an eye – and incorporated more vocal styles than the average death metal band would. We have always called it epic dark metal since our inception in 1995 with our “the Lonely Flowers of Autumn” demo… and that has stuck with us».

In support of the reissues for Frozen Dreams and The Lonely Flowers Of Autumn, The Blood Of Christ are also sharing their lyric video for the track In The Distance. It was a song written by the band while heavily influenced by the Kataklysm Sorcery album. It’s a lengthy, heavy and unique grinder that is dedicated to a story of a vampire who cannot love a human woman due to his wretched existence and immortality. This song acts as a soundtrack to human suffering, told from both the band’s and the fictional vampire’s point of view.

The Blood Of Christ reissue line up:

Jason Longo – Drums, Cymbals & Sawblade

Jason Deaville – Vocals

Marek Kopala – Bass, Keyboards & Classical Guitar

Jeff Longo – Electric & Classical Guitar

Canadian epic dark metal band The Blood Of Christ (aka Blood Of Christ) began their career in the early ’90s, making a blackened death metal hybrid that sounded similar to a mashup of Carcass and Enslaved. They kept this style throughout their first two albums, but started to tweak it on their third full-length album, 2003’s Breeding Chaos. The Blood of Christ’s brooding, unique and crushing sound has made fans out of underground metal lovers from many genres, creating an appeal that defies genre borders.

On their second release through CDN Records, the London trio has crafted their most focused and creative effort yet with 7 numbers of Epic Dark Metal dexterity and power. Fiends whom were raised on the sheer brutality and boundary-smashing efforts of Morbid Angel, or the pioneering and challenging progressive grind-core of Liverpudlian innovators Carcass, the epic and majestic sounds of Viking artisans Enslaved or even the groove-laden proto-death of Brazilian legends Sepultura will find something rousing and engulfing within The Blood of Christ. All of these influences and components meet head-on and shatter the boundaries of conventional arrangements and ultimately take the listener away to territory similarly explored by none before.

While their influences favored the shocking approach with lyrical themes that were rampant with Gore, Satanism and often-abhorrent imagery, The Blood of Christ chose to focus on more abstract and poetic subject matter. Their songs are often rife with human suffering, lust and longing, time travel, astrology, historic battles and the human struggle for personal freedom. A sincerely dark and often poetic way of not being afraid to expose the innards of human suffering, and relate to the misery from the destructive, self-promotion of humanity with unique vocals that sound as if purveyed by a raging beast – all of which is set to a brutal and epic soundtrack.

Cassette Track Listing – The Lonely Flowers Of Autumn (1995) – Reissue:

1. Autumns Twilight (7:45)

2. In the Distance (7:37)

3. Moonshroud (6:61)

4. As the Roses Wither (4:19)

Cassette Track Listing – Frozen Dreams (1994) – Reissue:

1. Frozen Dreams (1:24)

2. Divine Gift (3:32)

3. Christ Crucified (2:58)

4. Dawn (3:33)

5. Bleed For Me (1:41)

CD Track Listing:

1. Autumns Twilight (7:45)

2. In the Distance (7:37)

3. Moonshroud (6:61)

4. As the Roses Wither (4:19)

CD Bonus Tracks:

5. The Raven’s Song (4:51)

6. Winter Tree …a Forest of Tragedy (4:19)

7. Frozen Dreams (1:24)

8. Divine Gift (3:32)

9. Christ Crucified (2:58)

10. Dawn (3:33)

11. Bleed For Me (1:41)

The Blood of Christ was formed in London, Ontario, in 1994, their lineup composed of avid metal scenesters: guitarist Jeff Longo, bassist Marek Kopala, drummer Jason Longo and vocalist Jason Deaville. Musically, at that time they were closest to Cannibal Corpse, although other metal bands like Morbid Angel, Samael, Kataklysm and Carcass played a role in their sound.

A 1995 demo (that saw a shift in style to what is now their own blend of death and black metal) helped the band secure a deal with Pulverizer Records, which released their debut album, …a Dream to Remember in 1997. A strong underground following began to build behind the group with albums like 1997’s …a Dream to Remember” and 2002’s As the Rain Gently Falls. Vocalist Conan Bulani, who joined the group in time to appear on the band’s debut album, sadly passed away in 2011. The Blood of Christ is now fronted by Ontario underground-metal veteran Hank Bielanski on bass & vocals.

The release of Eastern Beast – Western Wolf a split CD & Cassette with Japanese hyper-groove masters Vomit Remnants on CDN Records in late 2020 will see the debut of Hank’s beastly craft with The Blood of Christ. The Blood Of Christ is the embodiment of an epic dark metal craft that in it of itself is limitless with possibility.


About Ulf Backstrøm (7174 Articles)
Mitt hovedfokus er musikk som er basert på progressiv tenking. Jeg er på ingen måte ensporet innen musikksmak, i likhet med intensjonen bak prog. Sjangerbegrepet er egentlig temmelig uinteressant annet enn til å gi en pekepinn om hva slags musikk det er snakk om i en anmeldelse. Jeg søker god musikk for å utfordre meg som lytter. God musikk til å trigge mine musikalske smaksløker, og til å sette i gang mine refleksjoner. Da er sjansen stor for at jeg utvikler meg og lærer, noe som bør være drivstoff for et hvert menneske. Fordi det å lære og utvikle seg er noe som tilfører livet en nødvendig porsjon "krydder". Slikt krydderet finner man blant annet i musikk. Ikke overraskende mener jeg at progressiv musikk har den fineste "smaken". På den annen side kan musikk med eller uten progressive elementer være godt nok til hverdags. Til fest derimot holder bare rendyrket prog! Må jo også få med at jeg rimelig kritisk, og jeg mener at det lages mye prog som er i beste fall uinteressant, og faktisk mye som er pinlig dårlig. Heldigvis oppveies dette av ekstremt dyktige aktører som for eksempel: Flower Kings, Mostly Autumn og White Willow, for å nevne noen tilfeldig valgte.
Contact: Website

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.