Hollow: With concept album with the ambition of conveying a story…..

Hollow - Tower

Rockshots Records is satisfied to announce they will once again be releasing the next recording from Swedish power prog band Hollow lead by Andreas Stoltz (ex-Binary Creed). Entitled Tower, the fourth album follows 2019’s Between Eternities Of Darkness, which marked the band’s return after a 20-year hiatus since unleashing the 1999 album Architects Of The Mind via Nuclear Blast Records.

Featuring 10 tracks, Tower is a story album best listened to as a whole, which tells a tale of transformation with its blend of progressive metal/rock, power, melodic death and thrash elements. Andrea Stoltz is accompanied by drummer Stalder Zantos who also appeared on Between Eternities Of Darkness.

«Working with Stalder Zantos has been a more continuous element in writing the material for Tower than on Between Eternities of Darkness and this has definitely influenced the outcome as has contributed more on this album than on the previous one», adds Stoltz.

On Hollow’s Architect Of The Mind” artificial intelligence and creation was the topic, on Between Eternities Of Darkness parenthood and tragedy and for Tower the concept of inner and outer freedom is explored. It’s also about belonging and transcendence and Stoltz hopes these are things that most people can relate to.

«The relating bit is important, since art – regardless of form – is a meeting of emotions and ideas. It needs to find something to resonate within the person who takes part in it. When asked, I find it hard to describe the music, but it’s metal. It has distorted guitars, double bass drums and harks back to bands like Judas Priest and Queensryche. But there is also quite a bit of contemporary metal on Tower».

«Since this is a concept album with the ambition of conveying a story, listening to it as a whole is encouraged. I hope you can find something that resonates with you on it. Hopefully, Hollow`s fans will be able to trace today’s music back to Modern Cathedral and Architect of the Mind. I’ve made an effort to keep it as straightforward and simple as possible. I think most fans will have no trouble recognizing it as Hollow», comments Stoltz.

In preview to the Tower release on November 26th, Hollow is revealing the album’s title track as the first single. It’s a traditional metal song with some nice riffing and a catchy chorus. The song’s tale is about the protagonist who grows up in seclusion and their contact with the world outside the Tower is limited to their guardian/teacher.

Stoltz explains the title track in further detail:

«Tower (the title track of the album) was one of the first songs to be completed and it’s also a great representation of the album as well as Hollow’s music. I wanted to write a record that was a bit more uplifting than the previous one and it all fell into place when I realized that Tower (the album) was going to be a kind of fantasy story. But also about inner change. In a sense, we’re all trapped in our towers, ie our minds. This song started the writing process of the whole album».

Track Listing:

1. Birth (3:45)

2. The Tower (3:25)

3. Guardian (3:49)

4. The Waiting Is Over (3:26)

5. Destroyer of Worlds (3:38)

6. Every Drop of My Blood (3:58)

7. Sunrise (3:29)

8. A Home Forgotten (3:30)

9. Nation of Man (3:42)

10. Wander On (3:39)

Album Length: 36:24


About Ulf Backstrøm (7437 Articles)
Mitt hovedfokus er musikk som er basert på progressiv tenking. Jeg er på ingen måte ensporet innen musikksmak, i likhet med intensjonen bak prog. Sjangerbegrepet er egentlig temmelig uinteressant annet enn til å gi en pekepinn om hva slags musikk det er snakk om i en anmeldelse. Jeg søker god musikk for å utfordre meg som lytter. God musikk til å trigge mine musikalske smaksløker, og til å sette i gang mine refleksjoner. Da er sjansen stor for at jeg utvikler meg og lærer, noe som bør være drivstoff for et hvert menneske. Fordi det å lære og utvikle seg er noe som tilfører livet en nødvendig porsjon "krydder". Slikt krydderet finner man blant annet i musikk. Ikke overraskende mener jeg at progressiv musikk har den fineste "smaken". På den annen side kan musikk med eller uten progressive elementer være godt nok til hverdags. Til fest derimot holder bare rendyrket prog! Må jo også få med at jeg rimelig kritisk, og jeg mener at det lages mye prog som er i beste fall uinteressant, og faktisk mye som er pinlig dårlig. Heldigvis oppveies dette av ekstremt dyktige aktører som for eksempel: Flower Kings, Mostly Autumn og White Willow, for å nevne noen tilfeldig valgte.
Contact: Website

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.