Small Jackets: Grab the vinyl edition!

Small Jackets – Just Like This

The Italian masters of combining classic rock elements with the best parts of boogie rock has done it again. Small Jackets released their first Transubstans album, IV, in 2013, and 8 years after we are more than happy to have them back with us with the album Just Like This. It do not get much better than this if you’re into bands like early Aerosmith, Five Horse Johnson, Mountain, The track Next Level,

Mark Oak : Lead Vocals, Bass

Eddy Current : Lead and Acoustic Guitars, Synthesizer, Leads Vocals on “The Jail”, Backing vocals

Danny Savanas : Drums, Percussion, Backing vocals

Phil Baychans: Lead Guitar, Backing vocals

Additional musician:

Daniele Orlandi : Keyboards and piano

Mary Double J : Vox on “Funky crunchy woman“

Andrea Garavelli : Percussion on “Funky crunchy woman“

Marco Benny Pretolani : Sax on “The Jail”

Produced by Small Jackets

Recorded and mixed by Matt at Deposito Zero Studios

Mastering by Giovanni Versari at La Maestà

Lyrics: Marco Ubaldo Leardini (“Movin on”, “Getting Higher”, “Funky Crunchy woman”)

Lalli Rose Rosetti (“Next level” “Celebrate”, Breakin’ the line”)    

Eddy Current (“The Jail”)

Mark Oak (“Midnight town”, “Get out of my way”)

Photos: Leah Arwen

Cover Art : Andrea Pozzy

Photo art : Artibani Tezio

Special thanks : Tommy Gun,  John & Esther (Teachers, Lester (James Brown Style Live lyrics!!!)

A big hug to: everyone who gave us the strength to believe in this album!!!

The Brokendools, Los fuocos, Mad dogs, AGA, Dome la muerte, SADE, Gianni Della Cioppa, Todd. K. Smith, Sal Canzonieri & the electric frankenstein, LS Stargate,  David of DavveroComunicazione, Rob & temporal sluts, Lu Silver string band, Man y Miguel, SOAB, Macalli Custom Works, ChopWorks and Ride On movie.

Isabella, Ludmila and Thiago boy, Francesca, Stephanie

The Small Jackets came to life in 2000, when powerhouse drummer Danny Savanas joined forces with leather-lunged vocalist and rhythm guitarist Lu Silver. The duo was brought together by the sheer will to carry the torch of authentic rock and roll in the new millennium.

In March 2004, Play At High Level, the band’s thundering debut album, became the first instalment of the Small Jackets saga. Featuring David Piatto on lead guitar, it received rave reviews from widely-known zines such as Rumore, Mucchio Selvaggio, Rocksound, All Music, Rockstar, Music Lava, Stonerrock. Having replaced David Piatto with his own young hotshot disciple Eddy Current and with Rob “Nobody” Tini’s addition on bass, the Small Jackets embarked on a series of live shows, characterized by energetic performances. The foursome shared the stage with mainstays of the international rock’n’roll circuit such as The Lords of Altamont, Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, Hardcore Superstars, Dollhouse, Division of Laura Lee, Adolescent, White Flag, Imperial State Electric, and, perhaps most importantly, the Hellacopters, a band that will become inextricably linked to the Small Jackets.

Hot on the heels of Play At High Level, in 2006 the band proceeded to release Walking The Boogie, an album that tellingly featured guest appearances by both Nick “Royale” Anderson and the late great Robert Strings Dahlqvist (The Hellacopters). The Swedish pair traded solos on the stand-out track Forever night. Three years of intense live dates followed, including an appearance at the Rock in Idro Fest in September 2006, during which the band shared the bill with legendary names such as The Damned and the Stooges (at the time featuring the late Asheton brothers alongside Iggy Pop)

In March 2009 Cheap Tequila, owning its title to an old Johnny Winter song, saw the light of day. The band’s third release on Go Down Records, Cheap Tequila was marked by the first appearance of Mark Oak on bass and co-lead vocals. Recorded at Music-A-Matic Studios in Gothenburg (Sweden), it also marked the first time that renowned producers Chips Kiesbye and Henryk Lipp (The Hellacopters, The Nomads, Sator, Millencolin), worked on an album by an Italian band. Walt Lafty of Silvertide fame contributed a song to the record (“We Got a Problem”), which he also sung and played guitar on. The ensuing tour was kickstarted in April. Two shows with Thunder Express, Robert “Strings” Dahlqvist’s then-current band, further cemented the friendship and mutual respect between the Swedish legend and the band. The explosive live performances with Lu Silver and Mark Oak sharing vocal duties drew favorable comparisons by the fans with Mark IV-era Deep Purple.

In 2013, the band split up with founding member Lu Silver, due to musical differences. Mark Oak took over as main lead vocalist, a spot he has comfortably occupied ever since. While the breakup was admittedly bitter at the time, these days it is not uncommon to see Lu Silver share the stage with the Small Jackets for impromptu encores… all in the name of rock and roll!

A revamped line-up featuring scene veteran Matt West as second lead guitarist released IV through Swedish label Transubstans Records in June 2013, to widespread acclaim. The fanbase fully embraced the evolution of the band, now veering toward a harder-edged sound that further widened the scope of the band’s rock and roll arsenal, as perfectly exemplified by new live staples such as Ball ’N Chain, Black Beauty, Trouble Blues and What We Feel.

In spite of a July 2014 triumphant gig with the Quireboys at Clusone Rock Fest, the strenuous relationship with Matt West came to an abrupt end in August. Still, the band managed to pull another ace from the deck of local talents with the addition of new co-lead guitarist Phil Baychans. The incarnation, consisting of Danny Savanas, Eddy Current, Mark Oak, and Phil Baychans has since become the longest-serving line-up and has just entered its eighth year of continuous existence.

While relentless shows – including a high-profile gig at Live  Music Club Milano opening for Danko Jones in 2017 – remained a constant, actual releases were limited to a digital single/video clip (“Get Out of My Way”, 2017) and a charity Bandcamp release (Kiss classic “I Stole Your Love”, 2019)…

…but the wait is almost over, because on December 17, 2021 Just Like This!, the band’s long-awaited fifth full-length, will hit digital and physical stores! In the band’s own words, “be prepared for the biggest ear-f**k of your life”!

Now save the date and make sure to grab the vinyl edition!


Om Ulf Backstrøm (6851 Artikler)
Mitt hovedfokus er musikk som er basert på progressiv tenking. Jeg er på ingen måte ensporet innen musikksmak, i likhet med intensjonen bak prog. Sjangerbegrepet er egentlig temmelig uinteressant annet enn til å gi en pekepinn om hva slags musikk det er snakk om i en anmeldelse. Jeg søker god musikk for å utfordre meg som lytter. God musikk til å trigge mine musikalske smaksløker, og til å sette i gang mine refleksjoner. Da er sjansen stor for at jeg utvikler meg og lærer, noe som bør være drivstoff for et hvert menneske. Fordi det å lære og utvikle seg er noe som tilfører livet en nødvendig porsjon "krydder". Slikt krydderet finner man blant annet i musikk. Ikke overraskende mener jeg at progressiv musikk har den fineste "smaken". På den annen side kan musikk med eller uten progressive elementer være godt nok til hverdags. Til fest derimot holder bare rendyrket prog! Må jo også få med at jeg rimelig kritisk, og jeg mener at det lages mye prog som er i beste fall uinteressant, og faktisk mye som er pinlig dårlig. Heldigvis oppveies dette av ekstremt dyktige aktører som for eksempel: Flower Kings, Mostly Autumn og White Willow, for å nevne noen tilfeldig valgte.
Contact: Hjemmeside

Skriv en kommentar

Din email adresse vil ikke bli vist offentlig.