Retreat From Moscow: Alcohol and curry may have been involved!

Retreat From Moscow - The World As We Know It

Retreat From Moscow is a very relevant these days, bit it is actually a band name! Also the album title is very relevant these days! The new album is entitled The World As We Know It and consist of new and old songs.

Retreat From Moscow was active 1979 to 1981 and gigged massively back then. 38 years later the Wales band reformed, and they started to recording new music for a new album. As many other band they were influenced by the prog giants of the 70s but they also have a nod to 80s new wave of prog with much keyboards, melody soaring vocals and big chorus.

Alcohol and curry may have been involved in making the decision to reform the band! Yet when they got together for the initial rehearsals at Rockfield studios, the band were surprised how tight they could still play as a unit and how easily everyone remembered the old songs.

Successful drummer and record producer Greg organized the sessions with long-term collaborator Clint Murphy at Modern World Studios in the Cotswolds and the tracks were finally sent to be mastered by Ryan Smith at Sterling Sound in Nashville, USA towards the end of the 2019. Clint’s influence and skill in the making of this album earned him a well-deserved co-production credit.

All of the band members have been involved in making music since the early incarnation of RFM. Greg has been by far the most successful, and is best known for his work with the Manic Street Preachers and Melanie C. Greg has also worked with Tom Jones, Catatonia, Cory Hart and many other artists Worldwide. With Manic Street Preachers, he was involved in production for numerous gold and platinum accredited albums. This Is My Truth Tell Me Yours, Send Away the Tigers and Know Your Enemy albums received gold accreditations in the UK. He currently resides in New Zealand where he has recently been arranging producer masterclasses, gigging, recording and producing.

John continued to work in the music industry as a sound engineer, tutor, journalist, and musical equipment demonstrator. He worked with many leading industry artists over this period including EMF, Chesney Hawkes, Jean-Jaques Burnell and David Arnold. Among those he interviewed as a journalist are Peter Bardens (then playing for Van Morrison), Alan Murphy (guitarist for Kate Bush, Go West and many others), Warren Cuccurullo (Frank Zappa, Missing Persons and at that time playing for Duran Duran), Mitch Easter (producer of the first 2 REM albums), John Leckie (producer of the Stone Roses and Radiohead)- and the band Marillion.

Since the demise of the band in the early eighties Andrew re-invented himself as a keyboard player and successful businessman. Yet he still loves guitars and collects vintage and rare models and equipment – some of which are featured on this Retreat From Moscow album. He is well known in the industry as the owner of the Minnesota Burst Les Paul and his knowledge of equipment is excellent. Andrew frequently collaborates with guitar manufacturers, pick up developers and journalists who specialise in this area of the music industry.

Tony has played bass for many bands in the Bristol area including The Big Outdoor Type’ in the early 80’s with Neil Davidge (who went on the produce Massive Attack), ‘The Kogi Tribe’ in the 90’s with Ian Matthews (now of Kasabian) on drums. In addition to RFM he continues to play with the Bristol-based Jazz/Funk band Hip Pocket and enjoys playing the music of prog-rockers Camel with Skylines. A band which also features guitarist John harris and drummer Scott Hunter(ex Jethro Tull, Book of Genesis).

It is somewhat ironic that after releasing their first single in 1980 Retreat From Moscow have waited forty years to produce an album only to have the proposed launch postponed by a Worldwide pandemic. Yet from those early, heady days at school listening to bands like Genesis, Tull, King Crimson, Camel and Caravan, even though the journey has been a long one, it has been worth the wait.


1. The One You Left Behind

2. Radiation

3. Henrietta

4. I’m Alive

5. Constantinople

6. Home

7. Armed Combat

8. Moving Down

9. Perception

10. Mandragora

11. Don’t Look Back


Andrew Raymond – Keyboards, Guitars, Backing Vocals

John Harris – Vocals, Guitars, Flute, Keyboards

Greg Haver – Drums, Percussion, Synth, Backing Vocals

Tony Lewis – Bass, Bass pedals, Backing Vocals


Om Ulf Backstrøm (6832 Artikler)
Mitt hovedfokus er musikk som er basert på progressiv tenking. Jeg er på ingen måte ensporet innen musikksmak, i likhet med intensjonen bak prog. Sjangerbegrepet er egentlig temmelig uinteressant annet enn til å gi en pekepinn om hva slags musikk det er snakk om i en anmeldelse. Jeg søker god musikk for å utfordre meg som lytter. God musikk til å trigge mine musikalske smaksløker, og til å sette i gang mine refleksjoner. Da er sjansen stor for at jeg utvikler meg og lærer, noe som bør være drivstoff for et hvert menneske. Fordi det å lære og utvikle seg er noe som tilfører livet en nødvendig porsjon "krydder". Slikt krydderet finner man blant annet i musikk. Ikke overraskende mener jeg at progressiv musikk har den fineste "smaken". På den annen side kan musikk med eller uten progressive elementer være godt nok til hverdags. Til fest derimot holder bare rendyrket prog! Må jo også få med at jeg rimelig kritisk, og jeg mener at det lages mye prog som er i beste fall uinteressant, og faktisk mye som er pinlig dårlig. Heldigvis oppveies dette av ekstremt dyktige aktører som for eksempel: Flower Kings, Mostly Autumn og White Willow, for å nevne noen tilfeldig valgte.
Contact: Hjemmeside

Skriv en kommentar

Din email adresse vil ikke bli vist offentlig.