Thirteen Goats: All of the current live band members have roots in Eastern Europe!

Thirteen Goats – Return To Ruins

Goats are not animals I am excited about, and 13 goats I will probably feel quite uncomfortable with. On the other hand, I am very comfortable with the talented band Thirteen Goats! The band released debut album Servants Of The Outer Dark out July 1st.

Return To Ruin is the first official single from Vancouver death metal monsters Thirteen Goats. Front man and lyricist Graham K. Miles explains the song in detail below:

«Return To Ruin came from a place of deep anger with a number of institutions and systems that I feel are failing the current generation—predominantly governments and large corporations that are waging war, both literally and economically, against everyday people around the world. From the widespread mismanagement of a global pandemic to increasing wealth inequality, an ongoing environmental crisis, a rising tide of political extremism, and now a new Cold War with Russia’s ongoing invasion of Ukraine, we are living in the midst of extremely dark times—and the people who are supposed to shepherd us through them seem to be leading us to the slaughterhouse instead of towards greener pastures».

—we have one Ukrainian (me), two Russians, and an Armenian. But all of us are against the war and against people who use power unjustly. This song is intended to be a call to arms—a protest anthem that invites listeners to question authority figures and the systems they’ve set up, and to burn those systems down if they’re not working so we can start over with something better. Like we say in the lyrics: ‘Sacrifice the ones you’re serving; ask yourself what they’re preserving».

Says,«This ain’t your dad’s death metal, but we kept the best parts. Eclectic, over-the-top, and just a little weird, Thirtenn Goats takes cues from some of extreme metal’s most infamous names (Death, Carcass, Cannibal Corpse) to create a tongue-in-cheek blend of different genre hallmarks that’s as hooky as it is heavy. Horns up».

Direction motion graphics animator: Marvin Camalich, and art: Frank Hisashi.

Track list:

1. Servant of the Outer Dark 05:48

2. Challenge the Executioner

3. Return To Ruin 04:11

4. Prisoner’s Anthem

5. Sub-Being

6. Unholy Mass

7. Constant Torment

8. Vacuum-Induced Head Explosion

9. Through the Meat Grinder… The Recipe

Thirteen Goats are inspired by classic American death metal acts like Deicide and Cannibal Corpse, and they have their feast of a debut album ready for discerning metal heads the world over. Servants Of The Outer Dark is a sonic trip that winds down the most twisted sections of extreme metal’s memory lane on a journey to wicked new horizons. The band weaves together conventions from numerous extreme metal subgenres on songs that range from topical to tongue-in-cheek—some are overtly political, while others are about things like cooking and eating your enemies.

Heavy, hooky, theatrical, and over-the-top, Thirteen Goats takes the standard death metal recipe and turns it on its head without sacrificing raw power. They liberally add flavours from a wide range of other metal subgenres including tech death, melodeath, brutal death metal, groove metal, thrash metal, black metal, and even grindcore, resulting in a well-blended and tasty layered sound that is approachable for any metalhead. The album was produced by the band, mixed and mastered by Diego Fernandez-Trujillo, and the album artwork was done by Jeremy Famir. They are is suggested for fans of Carcass, Cannibal Corpse, and Deicide.

«This new song, Return To Ruin, is the first single from Thirteen Goats‘ forthcoming debut album Servants Of The Outer Dark, a gut-punching and head-hooking offering of death metal that borrows liberally from many of the genre’s subsets, as well as bringing in elements of thrash, black metal, and grind core… it blazes like a wildfire running ferociously out of control, powered by a panoply of turbocharged riffing, riotous drum work, and vitriolic vocals that span a range from guttural bellows to screeching shrieks, wild howls, and savage near-sung yells. The guitars twitch in demented thrashing fevers, jolt like jackhammers, swarm in feeding frenzies, and eject brazen fanfares, augmented by solos that spit fire and beautifully swirl. The rhythm section will also beat you senseless, but engage in some interesting off-kilter interplays as well -», No Clean Singing.


Om Ulf Backstrøm (7110 Artikler)
Mitt hovedfokus er musikk som er basert på progressiv tenking. Jeg er på ingen måte ensporet innen musikksmak, i likhet med intensjonen bak prog. Sjangerbegrepet er egentlig temmelig uinteressant annet enn til å gi en pekepinn om hva slags musikk det er snakk om i en anmeldelse. Jeg søker god musikk for å utfordre meg som lytter. God musikk til å trigge mine musikalske smaksløker, og til å sette i gang mine refleksjoner. Da er sjansen stor for at jeg utvikler meg og lærer, noe som bør være drivstoff for et hvert menneske. Fordi det å lære og utvikle seg er noe som tilfører livet en nødvendig porsjon "krydder". Slikt krydderet finner man blant annet i musikk. Ikke overraskende mener jeg at progressiv musikk har den fineste "smaken". På den annen side kan musikk med eller uten progressive elementer være godt nok til hverdags. Til fest derimot holder bare rendyrket prog! Må jo også få med at jeg rimelig kritisk, og jeg mener at det lages mye prog som er i beste fall uinteressant, og faktisk mye som er pinlig dårlig. Heldigvis oppveies dette av ekstremt dyktige aktører som for eksempel: Flower Kings, Mostly Autumn og White Willow, for å nevne noen tilfeldig valgte.
Contact: Hjemmeside

Skriv en kommentar

Din email adresse vil ikke bli vist offentlig.